Type here & click enter

Character Classes are the most basic building block of your character in Path of Exile. These grant greater control of your character.

Path of Exile Character Classes

Character classes in  Path of Exile dictate the play-style you’ve come to expect from the roles in an  RPG. Greater control of your character is granted when you know more about your class and how it plays out. Below I’ve highlighted how the classes differ in their attributes and how you can make use of that.

Character Classes

POE focuses on three main attributes that are strength, dexterity and intelligence. Then comes the classes which are 7 in total and playable. Those are the Marauder, Duelist, Ranger, Shadow, Witch, Templar and Scion. When you enter the world of Path of Exile you can pick one of these classes for your character to spend the entire game with. You can, later on, upgrade and specialize your character’s true potential.

After some time you can select the subclass for your character also known as the Ascendancy subclass. There are sub-classes restricted to certain classes and you can only choose one of them.

Every character in POE starts off with 50 life and they get 12 added to their health after a level up. Starting Mana for every character is 40 and 6 added every level up. As for the evasion rating, everyone starts off with 53 and 3 get added every level up. You may be wondering the criteria for using items, each item has it’s level and attribute requirement you must meet before using a certain item or skill.

POE consists of 3 pure character classes and 4 hybrid character classes.

Pure Characters


You might have a vague idea what strength is here, it refers to physical strength and power. The character class originated with strength is Marauder. Almost all attributes have elemental alignment and strength’s element is Fire. The Marauder class wields a club or a mace, so it does high damage and because of the strength armor pieces, Marauder possesses physical damage taken is reduced. The Marauder’s Ascendancy classes are Juggernaut, Berserker, and Chieftain. The Marauder starts with 32 strength, 14 dexterity, 14 intelligence.


Refers to being agile and nimble in battle. The character class originated with dexterity is Ranger and the dexterity’s element is cold. The Ranger class wields bow and rapiers, so it does decent damage at high speed and because of the dexterity armor pieces, Ranger possesses evasion is increased. The Ranger’s Ascendancy classes are Deadeye, Raider, and Pathfinder. The Ranger starts with 14 strength, 32 dexterity, 14 intelligence.


Refers to possessing information or knowledge on something. The character class originated with knowledge is Witch and the intelligence’s element is lightning. The Witch class wields staffs and wands which does high critical damage to the opponent and because of the intelligence armor pieces it possesses a shield is granted to the user which protects them from damage. The Witch’s Ascendancy classes are Necromancer, Elementalist, and Occultist. The Witch starts with 14 strength, 14 dexterity, 32 intelligence.

Hybrid Characters


The character class originated with it is Duelist. The Duelist class wields axes and swords, thus having two attributes the duelist possesses high damage and armor due to strength and high speed and evasion due to dexterity. The Duelist’s Ascendancy classes are Slayer, Gladiator, and Champion. The Duelist starts with 23 strength, 23 dexterity, 14 intelligence.


The character class originated with it is Templar. The Templar class wields staffs and having two attributes enables this class to do high melee damage or use powerful spells. The Templar’s Ascendancy classes are Inquisitor, Hierophant, and Guardian. The Templar starts with 23 strength 14 dexterity, 23 intelligence.


The character class originated with it is Shadow. The Shadow class wields claw and daggers which can so high melee damage and also possesses mines capable of doing high damage. The Shadow’s Ascendancy classes are Assassin, Saboteur, and Trickster. The Shadow starts with 14 strength, 23 dexterity, 23 intelligence.


The character class originated with it is Scion. The Scion class posses all three attributes thus enabling it to evolve into any variety of character build. The Scion has one Ascendancy Class the Ascendant. The Scion starts with 20 strength, 20 dexterity, 20 intelligence.

Join Our Community

Join Now